Centre exempts colleges in Meghalaya from CUET for another year


Share post:

Shillong, March 18: Government of India has exempted the colleges in Meghalaya, which are affiliated to NEHU, from the purview of the Common University Entrance Test (CUET) for another year i.e., 2023-24.

The Union Ministry of Education has extended the CUET exemption to all the colleges under the central universities in all the North Eastern States, as well as the State of Uttarakhand citing their hilly terrain limited digital connectivity and infrastructure.

In a letter to the Secretary of University Grants Commission, dated 15th March, 2023, the under secretary to the Government of India, PK Singh, wrote: “…given the geographical conditions, hilly terrain, far flung location, limited digital connectivity, infrastructure etc as impediment in conducting the CUET in North Eastern Regions, the Central Universities of North Eastern Regions namely Sikkim University, Rajiv Gandhi University, Manipur University, Assam University, Tezpur University, Nagaland University, Tripura University, Mizoram University, NEHU and HNBGU, Uttarakhand was allowed to take admission in the affiliated colleges to the Central University as per the past practice instead of CUET for the year 2022-23. Keeping in view the present situation, it has been decided that the above exemption may be extended for one more year for 2023-24.”

He further asked the UGC to issue necessary notification in this regard.

Mentionably, Chief Minister Conrad K Sangma had written to the Union Education Minister Dharmendra Pradhan on March 7, 2023, requesting exemption for Meghalaya from conducting the CUET. He cited the recent Legislative Assembly election and resulting delay of State Board examinations as challenges for students attempting the CUET for state-level undergraduate institutions. The Chief Minister also noted that the state government is taking steps to create a State University and will soon receive approval from the Governor of Meghalaya.

Last year in May, the Centre had agreed to exempt Meghalaya from conducting the CUET based on the Chief Minister’s request.

Share post:



More like this

BJP Mahila Morcha Leader seeks judicial intervention in South West Garo Hills rape incident

Shillong, April 22: In a letter to the Honourable Chief...

Election Commission of India orders repoll in 8 polling stations in Arunachal Pradesh

Itanagar, April 22: The Election Commission of India has...

Fresh polling underway in 11 polling stations in Manipur amidst heavy security

Imphal, April 22: Amid tight security on Monday, fresh...

Arunachal : Hukum ka ECI ban pynthep vote biang ha 8 tylli ki Polling Station

Itanagar, Iaiong 22 : Ka Election Commission of India...