Tripura CM takes oath as member of Tripura assembly


Share post:

Agartala, July 8: Tripura Chief Minister Manik Saha, who was elected to the state Assembly on June 23 by-election, on Friday took oath as the member of the Tripura assembly.

Tripura assembly Speaker Ratan Chakraborty administered the oath of office and secrecy to Saha, who on Monday resigned from the Rajya Sabha.

Later the Chief Minister tweeted : “Took oath as a Member of Tripura Legislative Assembly, today. With the help of colleagues in the house and under the leadership of Hon’ble PM Shri Narendra Modi Ji, we will definitely take forward the development works of the State.”

Contested the elections for the first time in his three-decade long political career, the 69-year-old Congress-turned-BJP leader won from the Town Bordowali Assembly constituency.

Saha, who’s also the state unit chief of the BJP, took oath as the Chief Minister on May 15, a day after Biplab Kumar Deb resigned from the top post.

To fulfil the constitutional obligation, he had to become a member of the Assembly within six months.

In the June 23 by-polls, result of which was declared on June 26, the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party won three of the four seats including that of Saha, who defeated Congress candidate Asish Kumar Saha by a margin of 6,104 votes.

The other three newly elected members — Sudip Roy Barman (Congress) and Malina Debnath and Swapna Das (Paul), both BJP — took oath as members of the Tripura assembly on June 28.

Share post:



More like this

Mudui ejahar ka GSMC ia ka Mahendraganj Forest Range ba jur khaii tuh ia ki dieng

Tura, Nohprah 04: Ka Garoland State Movement committee (GSMC)...

Pynkhreh ka ZMP ban thaw Sorkar marwei ha Mizoram; dang jop ka MNF tang 7 seat

Aizawl, Nohprah 04: Ka Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) ba...

Elekshon Mizoram : Nang ioh jingkyrmen ka ZPM ban thaw Sorkar, liem noh u CM bad DyCM

Shillong, Nohprah 04: Ka Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) kala...

Hadien ka Cyclone Michaung : ioh ring video ia ka crocodile ha surok Chennai hapdeng u lapbah

Chennai, Nohprah 04 : Ha kine ki khyndiat sngi,...